Log inRegister
Add a Review

PuppyFind.com

United States

Consumer reviews about PuppyFind.com

Tracy Gilliam
Dec 30, 2011

scam

Hi All,
This is Tracy Gilliam from Puppyrosa.com. The gentleman that has posted this complaint never placed a deposit with us which he said he would do before I went above and beyond to drive this puppy to him. Our usual procedure is to place the puppy with a wonderful family and fly the puppy to the destination. He was having trouble trying to arrange the flight fees, and therefore I said we were heading to Nashville for the weekend and would meet him if he put a deposit through paypal through good faith for the driving courtesy. When I called him to say I needed the deposit, he said he was already on his way from Virginia and would stop along the way and make the deposit, as I still had no land line or address that he was who he said he was which we verify through paypal. It is hard for us just to meet someone offline met through the Internet.

Once in Nashville, I asked him again to make a small deposit so that I could verify before we met at his hotel. Again he would not deposit and said we could meet at Walmart and his wife and I could go in and get a cashier's check while he waited outside with the puppy. Do you see now why I canceled meeting him? After further continued responses of why he would not make a deposit of which he stated he would at the beginning of our discussions, I had too many flags to meet this man.

Also, please note puppyfind.com would not allow us to continue posting to their site for the last 5 years or so if anyone else had a complaint. Plus, we have some of the most magnificent AKC registered Labrador puppies anywhere. Just ask us to send some our references from wonderful families located all over the US.
Sincerely,
Tracy Gilliam
Puppy Placement Counselor
www.APuppyrosa.com
901-335-1226

Jon McCartney
Dec 30, 2011

scam

" he would not deposit and said we could meet at Walmart and his wife and I could go in and get a cashier's check while he waited outside with the puppy. Do you see now why I canceled meeting him?"

No I don't. The breeder I bought from *requests" meeting in person, and takes personal checks after you meet the puppy and it is agreed there is a match. No deposits, no PayPal, Western Union, etc.

The last two cars I bought and sold were via a meeting and handing a cashier's check from one to another, for over $10, 000 each time. I don't understand your reluctance to complete this transaction in the manner described, and would be happy not to buy a puppy on your terms. Too many "flags" in your terminology.

AESPINO
Jan 19, 2012

Puppy scam

I WENT ON THIS SITE...AND THEY ALSO TOLD ME TO SEND THRU WESTERN UNION...BECAUSE I DEAL WITH WESTERN UNION, I CAME TO FIND OUT THIS WAS A SCAM

CSRM
Jan 20, 2012

Puppy scam

Greetings,

My name is Matt and I'm the Relationship Manager with PuppyFind.com. I am very sorry to hear that a scam artist has made their way on to our website and come in contact with the complainant, asking for funds to be sent via Western Union.

The wording of this complaint, and the initial comment both make statements that appear to blame our actual site for scamming them, but I would like readers to know that PuppyFind.com is not scamming these individuals. Our company is a legitimate service that has unfortunately been attacked by scam artists, and we must work daily to keep these scammers off of our site. Our fraud department works around the clock dealing with all sorts of accounts that violate our Terms Of Service (TOS), with scam artists being the worst offenders.

Because scam artists can appear to be legitimate members when they join our site, and may appear legitimate for a period of time, it can be difficult to locate them and positively identify them. However, there will be certain behaviors they exhibit that eventually indicate their true nature. Scammers will operate in different ways, one of them is the act of asking for money by Western Union.

The 'Buyer Tips' page (http://www.puppyfind.com/buyer_tips/) posted on our website clearly states that sending money by Western Union should be avoided. As this is one of the tips of our website, it would certainly not be something the service would ask of its members, so it's very clear that the complainant must be referring to the scam artist they met on our site, and not the site itself.

We encourage members to inform us of any suspicious accounts they may come across while using our service. Be it a legitimate dog breeder with poor practices, or a scam artist from overseas, we desire to see TOS violators removed from our website as quickly as possible. Every listing that appears on our site has a button that members can press to report the listing and account it is attached to. This report will be immediately sent to our fraud department, and the account will be investigated and the appropriate actions taken. If an email must be sent to detail what has happened while interacting with a scammer, those can be sent to us at [email protected]

It is my hope that readers will understand that the scams being spoken of in this complaint and subsequent comment are not being perpetrated by PuppyFind.com, but rather scammers who have decided to attack both our site and our members. If any readers have a specific listing or account they need to turn in that comes to mind while reading this, please send that information to us immediately by way of the email address posted in the previous paragraph.

Thank you for your time, and for sending any information to us that will help rid our site of scam artists.

Respectfully,

Matt
PuppyFind.com Relationship Manager
http://www.PuppyFind.com

LoveTheSlopes1966
Jan 30, 2012

Puppy scam

I have been searching for breeders nationwide and it really disturbs me that there are little to no ethics with so many of these people. How does your company actually scan prospective advertisers to avoid these things??? I am open to a Havanese, Cavalier or Cavachon. WHERE DOES A BUYER TURN TO FOR REAL ETHICAL PEOPLE???????

CSRM
Jan 31, 2012

Puppy scam

Due to the nature of our website, we do not pre-screen people who advertise on PuppyFind.com. This is made known in our Terms Of Service (TOS), as well as the fact that the service is provided "As Is" meaning that we provide the resources (the website) but not the content. The content is provided by people who sign up to advertise dogs on PuppyFind.com. While this 'open door' policy may appear dangerous to some people, PuppyFind.com does take measures to protect our members as best we can. We also provide Buyer Tips on our site that give potential buyers tips and questions to ask of breeders that advertise on the site. For example, we provide the distinct tip to avoid using Western Union as a means of payment. While we do provide these tips, warnings, and ways for members to turn in scammers, it should also be remembered that the buyer must do their own research before handing over any money to someone they intend to deal with involving a dog advertised on our site. Pre-screening or no pre-screening, it's up the buyer to make sure they are 100% confident in whom they are dealing with when using our service. PuppyFind.com is used by many ethical people, but bad apples may appear from time to time. This is why we work around the clock to keep the site as safe as possible. We also hope that the public is doing their part by asking the right questions and using common sense when dealing with a breeder they find on PuppyFind.com. As I have stated previously, if anyone is found to be violating our TOS, the public can inform us at [email protected] and we will investigate and take the appropriate action necessary.

Thank you for your time,

Matt
PuppyFind.com Relationship Manager
http://www.PuppyFind.com

Thud
Mar 15, 2012

Please beware on this site and really all sites like this

Just because puppy mills use puppyfind.com doesn't mean they are deserving of the blame. Puppy mills can advertise in the paper too, it doesn't mean the paper is at fault. Most likely, you did not do your due diligence when purchasing the puppy. Did you ask to see the parents? Did you ask to see where the breeder's operation? Was the breeder licensed? Did they have references? If you did not inquire about these things then I would say the blame lies mostly with you.

I would advise someone who is looking for a puppy to research, research, research. Research different breeds and different ACCREDITED breeders. I bought a puppy 3 months ago from a real breeder and couldn't be happier. He is free of any birth defects and is 100% happy and healthy.

Jessica PF Rep
Mar 23, 2012

Please beware on this site and really all sites like this

My name is Jessica and I am a Relationship Manager with Puppyfind.com. Since Puppyfind.com was mentioned in this complaint, I wanted to take a moment to respond on behalf of the Puppyfind.com website.

First, let me say that I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience while using the website. Bringing a new puppy into your home should be an exciting and fun time and I know that if something ends up being wrong with the puppy it can take an emotional toll on everyone involved. I do hope your puppy is thriving now despite its rough start.

While it is true that Puppyfind doesn't pre-screen members as stated in our Terms Of Service, we do work on making the website as safe as possible for all users. Unfortunately, Puppyfind.com has no way of knowing if a puppymill is utilizing our website. We simply do not have the ability to perform inspections on those breeders who choose to advertise on our website. However, when we do discover that a breeder is a puppymill, we do remove them from the site. Please understand that it does take more than one person's claim that a breeder is a puppymill. We look for copies of inspection reports, news reports and/or charges filed against the breeder to support the claim of "puppymill". If someone feels a breeder is a puppymill, we encourage that individual to contact our Customer Support and provide information detailing the reasoning behind that claim.

We also offer individuals who have purchased a puppy from a breeder on our site the ability to submit reviews of their experience. We may ask for supporting documentation as we try to be fair to both sides. Puppyfind is not involved in the arrangements or transactions of puppy sales. We do not promote one breeder over another nor do we receive any compensation from a successful sale. We simply provide an avenue for the initial point of contact.

As the previous poster mentioned, it is important for users to perform their due diligence when purchasing a puppy. We do try to help the buyer by offering a Buyer Tips page on the Puppyfind.com website. This page can be accessed by visiting the Puppyfind.com website and clicking the Buyers Tips tab located at the top of the page. These tips include questions to ask and things to watch out for when choosing a puppy.

Bilope, please feel free to contact the Puppyfind.com Customer Support if you have information supporting your claim of the breeder being a puppymill. We do not want puppymills on our website as that is not what the site was intended for. If you have not already submitted a review of your experience with this seller, please don't hesitate to do so.

Thank you for your time and I wish you and your puppy the best of luck.

Tracy Gilliam
Apr 2, 2012

scam

Because this person never identified himself but told us he would make a deposit later stating that he didn't feel comfortable with paypal tells us he he had possibly never used paypal as paypal invoices as either a goods or service.We have never had any other family tell us that they did not trust our paypal invoice. Secondly, for him to ask to meet at Walmart and that I could go in with his wife leaving the pup with him also alarmed me to the potential of a kidnapping of our pup. Since he had not been trustworthy with paypal, I was in no way going to put the pup in harm's way with someone who was not trustworthy and had not identified himself. I believe I am correct as he has still not identified himself in the original complaint above.
Sincerely,
Tracy Gilliam
Puppy Placement Counselor
www.APuppyrosa.com
901-335-1226

Rosetta Chastain
Dec 7, 2012

Ashlee Swanson ( BEWARE)

I bought an English Bulldog from Ashlee Swanson and when I spoke to her on the phone I told her I wanted a male puppy I could use for stud service and she told me she would give me full registration for breeding. The puppy was champion sired because of this I thought she would have a good puppy boy was I wrong. I meet her because she said she was coming close to where I live and she would meet me. I paid her 1200.00 for this dog and I took it to the vet the next day and I vet said it only had one testie and it wouldn't be good for a stud dog. I called her the next day after took it to the vet and she would not do anything about it. She ripped me off she knew it wasn't a good stud dog. So if anyone runs across this lady if you want to call her that; she is a dishonest.She sells other dogs so beware of this woman the name it shows up under on puppyfind is
Brian R Warsaw Indiana. She was headed to Atlanta, Georgia to buy dogs the day I met her(or so she said). She is a big woman and she drives a white cargo van BEWARE. My name is Rosetta Chastain is you wan information about her call me (812)883-6874.

Rosetta Chastain
Dec 7, 2012

BRIAN R (BEWARE)

DO NOT BUY A PUPPY FROM THIS PERSON!!! THEY ARE RIP OFFS THEY SOLD ME AN ENGLISH BULLDOG THAT THEY KNEW I WANTED FOR A STUD DOG AND THEY SOLD ME A STUD DOG KNOWING IT WAS NO GOOD!!! AND WOULD NOT DO ONE THING ANOUT IT I LOST 1200.00!! THEY SELL OTHER DOGS BEWARE OF THESE PEOPLE THEY ARE CROOKED AS CAN BE!!

badchoices
Feb 5, 2015

SCAMMERS

I recently purchased 2 pups from Serious Inquiries only and Sam stated to me all his pups comes with a lifetime health guaranty and after the pickup I had my vet to check these pups out which was advertised as 8 weeks old the female is a adult female with a full set of adult teeth including tartar on her maxillary premolars she has generalized dermatitis which is most likely of allergic origin.she is withdraw and very unsociable and very poor health condition and better yet she is not the dog that we thought we was buying. she doesn't like to be petted and snaps at anyone who tries to pet her.The male pup is 8 weeks old but he has a pronounced systolic heart murmur grade 4 of 6 which poses a significant risk as he increases in size he will not eat and is in very poor health I tried to contact Sam about these issues to get a refund of $1000 that was paid for these dogs but I was hung up on over the phone and when i try to call him back he will not answer the phone nor will he return any of the messages that i left for him .These people are a SCAM and I want a refund for these sick dogs I also notice that he still has the same photos of the pups that i thought i purchased but now i realize that the photos are not of any of the pups that he has this is his way to Scam hard working people such as myself whom is a disable veteran and has put my life on the line for my country but people like Sam has no right to be able to ride off the sacrafice that I have made for my country. I will never give up on having this man driven out off business and locked up for theft by deception but I think puppyfind.com needs to terminate this breeder from the site I plan to push these issues to the highest degree of the law if puppyfind.com continues to allow these types of practice on their site than to me that is aiding these scams and anyone who is involved should be held accountable. I urge sam to make this right. the pups photos listed as sumo and choco sushi are still listed for sale but I am suppose to have bought these pups but all i see is SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM. Thanks Walter

Add a Review about PuppyFind.com

    Review Title
    Country
    City (optional)
    Address (optional)
    Phone (optional)
    Website (optional)http://
    Review text
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username