Log inRegister
Add a Review

Newark Taxi

United States, New Jersey

Consumer reviews about Newark Taxi

FairCustomer
Mar 15, 2012

Hateful - Overcharge - Threatening

Cab Driver was rude, over charged and demanded more tip for no service

I took cab (License plate OXY2538) from Newark Airport to Somerset at around 12:30 am on 3/16/2012.
Taxi rate on yellow ticket was $68 excluding tolls and tips
Driver did not help me put the bag in the trunk
Driver asked me to put address in his GPS
Driver told me tolls are $4.00 each way. So, that would be $8.00.
Getting to my home driver was grumbling that it is too far from the highway exit. Since the address was already in GPS he should have known how far from the exit the destination is.
I looked up tolls on the http://www.state.nj.us/turnpike website toll calculator on my phone and it said $1.95 for off peak EZ Pass.
I mentioned this to the driver when we reached my home.
To this he said “Listen man! There is no off peak for taxi. This is commercial. It is raining and I cannot see properly. It is late at night and I am tired. I don’t want to argue with you for a few dollars”.
He did not help me take the bag out of the trunk.
I said OK, and gave him $80. So, this included $4 over what he was saying the charge was.
He was demanding $85. I said that I only give tips to drivers who help me with the bag.
To this he said that he did help me with the bag...which he had not and was of course lying.
I later looked on the website and the toll is in fact $1.95 for all Class 1 vehicles (including taxis).

[email protected]
Nov 4, 2012

Overcharged cab fare

I took a cab from Newark airport yesterday- November 3rd at around 9.45am. The man who put us in the taxi at the airport said it would cost $62 plus tolls which he informed would be $16 (equalling 78)

When we arrived at our hotel in manhatten (the pennsylvania on 7th) and went to pay, he said that he needed the toll money to return and informed us that the total was $96 ... We were very confused by this and asked for an explanation but he could barely speak any English and wouldn't let us out of the cab until we paid.

I have looked into cab fare and tolls and people on websites have written that they have experienced similar problems and been refunded for their over priced cabs.

The cab number was unit 423. If you could get back to me at [email protected] I'd much appreciate it.

Thank you

Fiona Brinkworth

Abaferie
Mar 29, 2013

Reckless drivningen

We landed in newark airport wednesday and decided to take a taxi to the Residence Inn Elizabeth. We got a taxi driver who not only spent the best part of half an hour getting us to the hotel, but also drove very recklessly. He got on the turnpike and tried to get off it by driving off Road between to roads during peak hours. We had to little children in the car and felt unsafe for a good part of the journey. He was clearly annoyed that we asked him to close the windows so the baby wouldn't get cold. When we finally got to the hotel he wouldn't give us a receipt and demanded a tip in an aggressive way. The taxi had 424 written on the side as I remember it, it was a mini wan and had the license plate oya3147.
Kind regards Anne Baekgaard ( [email protected])

waterbug
Feb 14, 2014

Dishonest driver - gaming the system

I boarded a Newark Cab # 533 ; mini-van looking yellow car, yesterday 2/13/2014, from EWR Terminal C taxi stand around 9:15 pm. My destination was Manhattan. The driver was a menacing looking, gruffy male driver who spoke with a very thick accent.

Upon boarding the taxi, the driver mumbled something about talking to the EWR despatcher and got out to then asked around if anyone else was going to Manhattan. He asked someone who responded to quickly get into the car. In short, he told me - without asking if I would agree, that he wants to make "extra money" by having me carpool while paying a full fare of $50 that i was informed by the despatcher. When I asked him why and how is he going to charge me, he was defensive and said he would have us share the tolls. The other passenger was going to Manhattan and his fare was $55. And If i did not object to it when we got into Manhattan, he was going to drop him off first, before me - even though this was "my cab".

I did not pay to share a cab with someone and find it offensive that he was such a bully. He was menacing and as a female passenger, on a snowy day late in the night, it was a threatening situation for me once I got into the cab (with my luggage) with him shoveling someone else into the car with me. He had basically gamed the system by charging a ride into Manhattan for $105 for 2 passengers, each paying their own full fare, but getting 'half' the ride space. He is shameless.

I find it appalling and disgusting that this driver has absolute no work morals is representing the tristate area and more importantly picking up visitors to our area and being such a crook! He is pocketing at least one of our money. I don't know if this is illegal but I plan to check.

I dont know if this feedback will get anywhere. I hope you know someone is not representing you well. He needs to be reported.

andyfromNJ
Sep 28, 2015

Rude scamming taxi still exist in newark

Taxi 267
Newark Airport taxi
Sep 27 2015 11.25pm

Would not put the windows up even on the freeway
Drove without his seatbelt on
Did not use his indicator to turn
Kept eating and spitting out the window the whole trip
Taxi was dirty
When arrived at destination he wanted more to cover his tip

Why isnt there a formal place to lodge a complaint?

In addition, why is it necessary to pick certain drivers for certain trips at Newark airport? They come in a row - first come first served - there are so many yet they make the people queue for unnecessarily long periods.

I will definitely use Uber from now on, each time i disembark at Newark Liberty airport. the taxi service there is appalling and this driver should be off the road

Arahman
Dec 18, 2016

Needs new specs and a gps

Our taxi driver could not see well at night. So went at a speed of 10 mph from the airport to comfort suites. Also hit lost on the way. The number was 456. Date 18/12/17 time 3:45am. Lesson learnt : take ├╝ber.

Add a Review about Newark Taxi

    Review Title
    Country
    City (optional)
    Address (optional)
    Phone (optional)
    Website (optional)http://
    Review text
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username