Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Wind Mobile

Canada,
Ontario

Consumer complaints and reviews about Wind Mobile

RA2011
Dec 21, 2011

customer service

I bought my wind mobile phone (Huawei U1250) and got a monthly phone plan ($25 unlimited talk in GTA + $5 voice mail) on Nov.8, 2011. It worked fine for the 1st month. I added $50 to my phone before Dec. 8 to pre-pay my phone bill for Dec. 8th, 2011 – Jan.8th, 2011. On Dec.12, I thought I should add more money into my phone in case I might forget to top it up during the holiday season. So I added another $40 to my phone. A text message from Wind showed that I had a $60 balance.

On Dec.19, I received the text message from wind saying “Due to an unpaid balance, we have to suspend your outgoing services.” I contacted the dealer about the issue and the dealer said she would report the case to wind mobile company. She asked me about the sales order number, case ID and my cell phone number. An hour later, I called her back and she said my phone number doesn’t belong to me anymore and it belongs to somebody else who lives in Kitchener. I live in Toronto and the cell phone number starts with 647 area code. Why would someone in Kitchener use a 647 number?

So I called wind mobile customer services. The customer service representative said he couldn’t find me in their database. He asked me for the SIM card # from my cell phone. He just couldn’t find me from their database. Then he asked me for my email address, home address, and alternate phone number. Never head back from him.

On the following day, I contacted the dealer again. She said she did nothing wrong and that she could give me new phone number, if I pay $25 to get a new SIM card. And she said she couldn’t transfer my $60 balance from the old phone number to the new phone number. Three days passed by, nobody called me back to explain what happened.
severen92@hotmail.com
Jan 10, 2012

Wind Mobile

I had a problem paying my monthly Top Up online with Wind Mobile. So, I called Wind customer service and the rep did it for me. She then proceeds to tell me that my Unlimited Text and Unlimited International Text features (which I had for free for over a year) will be charged $5 each. I told her these features were free and it appeared as such online; I told her to see it for herself. She replies that it is not so --- it was on my damn online account on my monitor! She told me I was wrong and that I either pay $5 for each feature or I cancel them. I am left wondering: If I had NOT called Wind for assistance with the Top Up, they would have charged me $5 for each feature and I would have not known about it. You have to remember one thing about Wind. In Canada, the company is new and small. Elsewhere in the world, they are monopolistic just like Rogers, Bell, and Telus. It's only a matter of time before their behavior resembles the big three.
Angry@wind
Feb 10, 2012

customer service

Wind is a horrible company, their dealers are completely misleading and do not even provide competent or reliable service.

I bought my LG Optimus from a dealer at Pacific Mall, Markham. I only visit that area a few times a year and at the time, I did not know it was a dealer. So when my phone broke, (ex. dropping calls, missing text messages, trouble sending outgoing messages, etc) after 6 months of usage, the warranty center told me they couldn't fix it because it was bought from a dealer, which means they didn't have my phone in their database. Why wouldn't they have my phone in their database? It's a phone from their company!

The only solution costumer services could provide is driving all the way back to Pacific Mall (2 hour drive) to the original dealer. I called the dealer and they told me that I could only receive a "lightly loved handset". Yeah, pretty words to describe a second hand phone, meaning there would be no warranty in case that phone broke. So then, fed up, after wasting several hours driving and calling customer services and losing all my data after every factory reset they made me do, I emailed LG. LG responded the next day and told me I had to send it to one of Wind's warranty centers, but the warranty centers wouldn't even accept my phone! Not even to deliver to LG. So now I'm stuck with a barely operating phone and still paying every month for their horrible service.

Wind, you have disappointed me...
kranthi gurajapu
Jul 17, 2012

Wrost customer service

I don't have any network at my workplace and when contacted wind they told they would do some network test and get back to me in 3-5 days and I waited for 2weeks and agian called, then i was told that they checked the network and everything is fine...I have again told them I was not getting any network at my work place....same story repeated again...for 3 months 12 days the story continued....I got frustrated and told wind that the network issue is resolved...and requested to provide the credit for the non availabilit of network...earlier 3-4 supervisors told me that I would be getting the credit once the issue is resolved...when I called the wind for refund they told me that they cannot provide me the refund for network related issue....we have to pay money even though we dont have network....wonderful way to get money wind carry on....
kranthi gurajapu
Jul 17, 2012

No network but we have to pay the montly bill

Wind is giving very good offer to their clients....pay the montly rent ontime....even if we don't have network and did not use the phone for not having network...supervisors doesn't have knowledge....statements vary from one to another....provides false statements...have a great time wind....Please use wind and donate some
Bahar
Oct 5, 2012

Unhappy wind's customer

I purchased a phone (HUAWEI U8651T) on Sep 17.2012. After few days calling to Customer service and getting troubleshooting eventually it was called a defective unit and has to be replaced. I walked to the store i bought it but they asked me to pay $50 and they send it to manufacturer for repair. It is not even guaranteed to be fixed or free of charge. I tried to explained them the unit you guys sold me was defective from the beginning but no one realized it. I sent few email through their social media emails and no response so far u have received.
I found this the worst customer service and trying to get their answer in writing so I can take this to the next curse of action which is legal however, it looks like they are not giving me any answer.
Any tips from any one?
chichi.canada
Oct 9, 2012

A $40 monthly plan doesn't worth spending money and time with them

I used to be a Koodo customer. Everything went Ok with them, I just wanted to have a more modern phone like Galaxy S3 so I started looking at Wind ... big mistake! from the beginning it was terrible, at Wind store my new cell phone wasn't well-configured, the agent ported my koodo number on a wrong way, I had to wait two days to get my number ported into Wind and surprisingly Wind charged me those two days with a temporary phone number, hah, it was their fault!!! My first bill was wrong, they charged the voicemail when it was going to be for free as its $200 credit promotion. I phoned 4 times to complain about that and I was told my case will raise to another department. I'm still waiting for its reply.

The coverage is terrible. Even in city, I used to lose signal and they started to charge roaming data which costs $1 per Megabyte! 1 megabyte is the same as 1 webpage with few images and flash animations.

Of course, I left Wind.

Technical and customer support suck!

Wind's slogan: "no hidden fees" is just a lie, a huge lie.
Dfreeman
Nov 8, 2012

WROST EVER

Windmobil Once again you have managed to lower the bar for your so called customer service. I have called six times to day,
I was sent to the store to get a new sim card, got two, still not solved the slow data problem, but managed to kill my caller ID. Called three times dropped out!!! No call back.
Now tech support doesn't even take the calls they ask so called customer service to stall and get rid of the client. This is the worst service I have ever seen in my life. Is there no end to Wind's incompetence and moronic behavior? Apparently not.
Irate customer
fileunderg
Dec 27, 2012

galaxy s3/Scam

Sales Person:Mohnish Kumar
Location: 371 Wellington.

Explanation:
Looking for a new phone for my wire as she lost her blackberry. They sold me a Galaxy S3 at 199 up front and automatic withdrawl of $227.56 appx 20 days later to cover the remaining windtab on the old blackberry (eligible upgrade), the rest would be placed on my wind tab for the S3.
After receiving the sales invoice and payment approved on my end I left the store. Before returning home I was called and asked to come back by 6 as there was a problem witht he hardware transfer on my account and to bring everything back, I told him ok but it would have to be done later. I tested the phone once I got home and YAY! IT WORKED! No hardware problem at all. She got all of her messages since her blackberry eventually lost battery life (where ever it is) and did not pick them up. Did a test phone call and it worked too. So I gave it to her...she had it for a couple of days.

Problem:
Sales person called her demaning more money, that he sold it to me for the wrong price (299 apparantly instead of 199). She directed him to my cell and naturally I refused he request. According to him if I refuse to return and pay the $100 difference within 48hrs of purchase (which is too late anyway) I could be charged the full price of the phone, (he says $700 but the receipt says list price of 649.00 but who's counting LOL).

...still not going to happen bud!
ips
Jan 10, 2013

Galaxy S3 issues

I switched my wife's connection from FIDO to Wind and purchased a Samsung Galaxy S3 phone for her and paid $199+ taxes with a $40 plan per month on Dec24 from Brampton North Park Location. The day I purchased the phone, my wife complianed about the dropped voice, the caller or listener couldn't hear each other for couple of seconds. She called the customer service but were not really helpful sucks as some previous callers have mentioned. We went to the store and complained about the issues with the phone, the store person gave us the new phone but said we have to use the previous phone's battery. The problem still continues and we are stuck. MADE A BAD DECISION TO SWITCH FROM FIDO TO WIND
Jones18
Jan 29, 2013

10gb /month falsely advertised as unlimited

When purchasing wind net service I had a half hour convo with the agent. He assured me that the $35 / month was an unlimited contract/service. However, after about 2 weeks they messaged me that I was way over a 10gb limit and my speed is throttled for the remaining bill cycle. For the next few days I was throttled to approx. 225kbps which seriously limits the abilities of what I could do online. Then It was dropped even lower to approx. 70kbps, for the rest of the billing cycle. So for about 2 weeks I basically am without internet, and you can't top up the account until the next month. I feel that I was blatantly lied to and scammed on buying the $100 stick & $25 sim card which are useless ,and a loss if I were to discontinue to top up the account. So I want to let as many people as possible know about this fraudulent false advertised service. Good luck tryin to get any customer service with this sham'ish company .10GB / Month Is Not Unlimited, pass it on!!!
Dara
Feb 10, 2013

Wind Mobile

Guys: Interesting story about Wind mobile. You probably have read or heard a lot bad about Wind mobile stores and customer services on line.
Here is the story:
I received an automated call from Wind mobile saying if I have time only 1 minute to answer 5 question about how we are doing. This is only survey.
Since I was driving I redirected to another time to call me back. I received this call few days ago and starting responding the question while this robotic machine was in charge to ask questions and instructing how and which buttons to push for YES or NO / BAD or GOOD.

Since I have a terrified experience with Wind mobile for selling defective unit and not being responsible to exchange it even within 14 days, clearly my responses would be negative.
Any way, after the first and second questions I responded, on the third my call was dropped and never received any call back to complete it.

I can’t even believe how a board must be so unwise that they don’t want to hear their own bads so they can work on that weakness.
I just hate this company.
Dara
Feb 10, 2013

Wind Mobile

Face Book Page was created for those have bad experience with Wind Mobile Services. Please do not hesitate to drop your experiments. face book page is CY Rus
daviyang
Mar 24, 2013

Falses charges on our new windmobiles lines

My old mobile plan plan with the Bell expiring this year from 3 year contract, so I searched for the a better plan.
I found Wind mobile that offered a promotional plan in March/13, which seem to beat any competitors offers.
After switching 6 new lines to Wind Mobile, 4 of the 6 lines got charged with ' Pay per Use'.
I reported these false charges to the call centre but they told me the charges are legitimate because we used the 'pay per use'
I went back to my dealer to find out why the extra charges on the invoices.
I explained what these false charges are:

1- My daughter is being charged for SMS international text 30x which she couldn't believe it was her calling after many midnights.
2- My son also started to get charged for SMS international text, which he is furious about.
3- My mother in law who doesn't know how to text ot use data, got charged $5.00.
4- My wife got charged for callling local wind to wind free calls- not free any more!

Maybe after hearing all these bad reports about
Wind Mobile, they want to sell it to highest bitter in Canada now?

I shall investigate further into this matter which never happened in my life with other mobile copanies in Canada.
Maybe I should be careful next time when the owner of this Wind mobile company is foreign owned!
JUSTINB
Nov 19, 2013

WIND MOBILE HOTSPOT

I recently purchased a WIND MOBILE HOTSPOT with the St. Laurent Ottawa location. Tried to return the HOTSPOT device, they said that they would only return it with ORIGINAL PACKAGING. This pertains to HANDSETS, not HOTSPOT!

Definition of a HANDSET:

Speaking and listening part of phone: the part of a telephone that is held in the hand and contains the parts used for speaking into and listening to.

Definition: Mobile hotspots

(a.k.a. portable hotspot or portable hot spot) are portable devices or features on smartphones that provide wireless Internet access on.

I will be filing a lawsuit pertaining to wind and the return policy since it is false advertising and the "devices" clearly are in 2 separate categories.

They lie, cheat and have no customer service what so ever! I have been with them for quite some time without issue, I buy all my phones out right (I have spent over $1000) with wind just in phones.

If you would like your voice heard, or join my cause, please e-mail me at j.baumgardner.1978@hotmail.com

Also look at the website from Rogers, they know that they are 2 separate entities:

http://www.rogers.com/web/Rogers.portal
tarek
Dec 1, 2013

DO NOT GO WITH WIND AT ALL

WIND HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE, RECEPTION AND PHONES I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE. I WENT WITH THEM WITH THEY FIRST OPENED UP IN LONDON AND THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A GOOD DEAL. I HAD 1 YEAR WARRANTY FOR MY PHONE AND ON ABOUT THE 9TH MONTH OF HAVINEY ALWG MY SERVICE I EXPERIENCED SOME ISSUES WITH MY PHONE AND KEPT ON CALLING THEM AND THEY KEPT ON SAYING THAT A MANAGER WOULD CALL ME BACK WITHIN THE NEXT 48 HOURS. ALL THEY SAY THEY WILL DO IS GIVE YOU A $50 CREDIT TOWARDS YOUR TAB WHICH IS IRRELEVANT BECAUSE, MY PHONE WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. FINALLY THE 1 YEAR MARK CAME UP AND THEY SAID THAT MY PHONE IS OUT OF WARRANTY. WELL TECHNICALLY IT IS NOT BECAUSE, I HAVE HAD ISSUES BEFORE AND NOTIFIED THEM BUT THEY KEPT ON DELAYING IT UNTIL THE 1 YEAR MARK. SO I STILL DO HAVE WARRANTY.
I WOULD LIKE TO CANCEL AND GO WITH ANOTHER PROVIDER BUT I DO NOT WANT TO PAY MY TAB BECAUSE, MY PHONE DOESNT WORK PROPERLY.


THEY WONT DO ANYTHING SO I AM DECIDING TO TAKE SOME LEGAL ACTIONS..........DO NOT GO WITH WIND!!!!!!!!!!
edvillroc
Feb 14, 2014

WIND MOBILE

These guys are thieves, I bought two brand new phones with them (HTC Radar) and took a contract that was supposed to have
every thing unlimited, BIG MISTAKE, I am still paying for the phones and the signal in my home, at work place and some other areas is so low that I always appear unavailable, and to connect to internet I have to turn the phone on and of, regardless of the strength of the signal. I have done every thing they told me to fix and nothing worked out, so right now I am paying them for nothing, looking forward to switch to a more responsible and reliable cellphone company. THIS ONE WIND MOBILE IS A PIECE OF CRAP, IF YOU WANT TO GIVE YOUR MONEY AWAY AND HAVE HEADACHE AT THE SAME TIME THEN TAKE A CELLPHONE CONTRACT WITH WIND MOBILE.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    Country of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Address (optional)
    Phone (optional)
    Website (optional)http://
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    NTS INFOTECH - want a details of job discription
    Hi sir/madam, I am planning to open a office in...
    www.realestateindia.com - Best Commercial Property
    Buy Commercial Property any where in India you need a Real...
    129094 - wedding dress
    1 Find out where you're going. The night is going to...
    Vacation village voyages - Fake Reviews
    My above review is fake. I wrote it while I was employed...
    septimo jewelry silvia fassardi - 2300 $$$$
    I was online searching for a new address for u silvia i...
    AMTC Auditions - AMTC
    Hello readers! I'm a reporter working on a story...
    debbie mottahedeh - I do deserve dehlia
    it doesn't have to play out like the movies I...
    debbie mottahedeh - I know who I am now n im scared
    I just wanted to let you know I figured it out I am the...
    Pennzoil Oil Change - incompetent and rude managers
    i needed my oil changed and didnt have the time or a place...
    sitter city - sleazy practices
    I enrolled with sitter city. Two weeks later, after I had...
    Usedphones.com - stole my phone system
    This company is owned and run by thieving, scam artists. ...
    Braums - Crispy Chicken Sandwich
    I had a friend pick up a crispy chicken combo for me at...
    dr debbie mottahedeh - Nice dog
    so anyways since I was born I have so much time on my...
    C.facebook.com/credits - 2 charges on my credit card
    I have tried contacting facebook with the number provided...
    silvia fassardi - Welcome to Miami
    Ok well i saw a post about silvia on fb. It seemed a...
    Naira Matevosyan, MD, PhD - Naira's defamation
    ERRATUM: THIS PAGE IS NOT CREATED BY NAIRA MATEVOSYAN,...
    Dentures Online - denturesonline.com & denture.com
    Paid for dentures in April 2013. After months of...
    Williams prod - Buy passports,drivers license,ID cards,birth...
    We produce real and fake passports, driver’s licenses,...
    Grand Incentives - failure to honor travel request or provide refund
    Attended seminar for vacation packages declined yet were...
    avast software anti-virus - refond my money
    I payed for 3 months plus 1 month because did not worked I...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username