Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Lumosity

United States,
California

Consumer complaints and reviews about Lumosity

kclady48
Jan 18, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Despite having been instructed in writing not to do so, on 12-15-11, a Lumosity employee again used my debit card information without my consent, and forcibly withdrew (approx)$15 from my checking account against my will.I did not use Lumosity between 12-15-11 and 1-15-12, because I had not yet realized that Lumosity had illegally taken unauthorized funds from my account thus I didn't know I had access to Lumosity during that time.

On 1-15-12 I received yet another correspondence informing me that a Lumosity employee had again attempted to help themself to an unauthorized cash withdrawel from my account, using my debit card information. This time the bank had stopped them from withdrawing the cash.

On 1-17-12 I again attempted to e-mail Lumosity twice using the "contact us" information on their web site. Both times the e-mail was again bounced back undelivered. I then tried to access my Lumosity account but the password wouldn't work.
Lumosity lists two phone numbers.One(415-651-4561) goes completely unanswered. The other(415-738-6079) leads customers to a "brick wall" telling customers to go back to the web site and contact Lumosity via the e-mail that doesn't work.

On 1-17-12 it was necessary for me to report my debit card to my bank as compromised, resulting in my paying a bank fee, as a direct result of Lumosity's misconduct.
Various web sites list numerous customer complaints by people who have been swindled by Lumosity employees in ways very similar to the way that I was. Lumosity's other victims consistently report that they are also unable to contact the company.
This time I sent copies of documentation to the San Francisco Police Dept. and to the California Attorney General.
Hallie_Lumosity
Jan 18, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Hi kclady48 - this is Hallie from Lumosity.com. I'm very sorry to hear that you've been having trouble canceling auto-renewal on your account! I assure you that it is NOT Lumosity.com employees who are using your card information to make these withdrawals and your payment information has not been compromised in any way.

All subscriptions to Lumosity.com are set up with automatic renewal, like a gym membership or Netflix. However renewal can be cancelled at any time by going through "Your Account" (in the top right corner of the screen) after logging in. Here's a direct link: https://www.lumosity.com/account/edit.

Look under "Membership Details" for "Cancel Auto-renewal." After canceling, your subscriber level access will continue through the end of your current billing cycle and then end. Your progress will not be lost, so you may resubscribe later on the same membership account.

If you do not see the "Cancel Auto-renewal" link, it means automatic subscription renewal/recurring billing has already been turned off for this account.

Since the help desk form was giving you trouble, why don't you let me know your username. With that information I can go in and cancel renewal on your account and look up the messages you sent us to see what happened that kept us from being able to respond to you.

Thanks, and let me know if you have any questions - Hallie
kclady48
Jan 18, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

That is pure bunk, with all due respect. That is exactly what I did BEFORE one of your employees tried to withdraw more funds from my account two more times, and was successful one of those times!
Any further correspondence about this matter needs to go through the outside parties who I have asked to look in to the matter.
Hallie_Lumosity
Jan 18, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Hi kclady48, sorry again for the trouble! We look forward to clearing up this problem as soon as possible in any way you feel comfortable. Thanks - Hallie
kclady48
Jan 19, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Since in reality I have made so many unsuccessful attempts to clear this up by trying to deal directly with Lumosity, that I have lost count-and since I have read so many accounts of other customers who keep having very similar experiences with Lumosity-I am very comfortable with my decision to ask outsiders to investigate.
"When words and actions disagree, I believe the actions."
udayachandirand
Feb 22, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

hi this is udai from Chennai,
let me know if any other way to pay the amount to you. because i don't have ATM service..


Regards,
D.Udai
Hallie_Lumosity
Feb 22, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Hi Udai - Currently our system can only accept payments via credit card or through paypal. If you don't have a credit card, you may want to create a PayPal account. You can do this by clicking "Checkout with PayPal" after choosing your product on our purchase page:

https://www.lumosity.com/purchase?hide_express_checkout=show

If neither of these options will work you can still play many of our most popular games for free by logging in and clicking "Games." You'll have unlimited access to any game without a lock :)
kclady48
Feb 23, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Thank you for your willingness to make restitution.My suggestion is this:
Rather than a cash refund I would be willing to accept 90 days of full use of Lumosity to compensate partially for the actual dollar amount that was taken from my checking account without my consent, partly for my out of pocket costs to change my debit card, and partly for the trouble involved with changing my debit card number and then having to notify other creditors of the change.
Should we reach an agreement that is amenable to both parties, I will advise the California Attorney General of the new development.Does Lumosity now have a way for customers to contact the company?
Hallie_Lumosity
Feb 23, 2012

Caught trying to take unauthorized funds from my checking account

Hi Kclady - the best way to contact us is through the contact form on our help desk. Here's a direct link:
http://www.lumosity.com/contact/ask

If you contact us using this form and the email address linked to your Lumosity.com account we'll be able to access your account and give you much more information, and help :)

Thanks and let us know if you have any questions.

Hallie
winniesutley
Mar 23, 2012

patwin40@hotmail.com

I am frustrated and sent requests, with no solution. The program is frozen and the problem is yours not mine. I am not benefiting from this. You had no problem entering the program on my computer and taking my money. Please reimburse my money and cancel my subscription. Thank you
JamesT
Oct 24, 2012

No Lumosity Games on Daily Basis as Promised

Info on Lumosity Ads promised I would receive games (?) on a daily basis. I paid for a 2 years Deal. It has been about 2 weeks since I purchased the 2 Year Deal. I have only received Two (2) games (?).
My e-mail address is: cynthiab1931@bellsouth.net.
purpurka
Dec 10, 2012

Getting a refund of one year subscription on Lumosity.com

Hello!
I have recently subscribed to Lumosity.com full access. I paid yearly subscription. Now I was requesting to get a full refund of the sum I paid, just for personal reasons. It is stated on the website that refundation is possible for full year subscriptions, if it is requested for within the first month of subscription.
However, few days have already passed since my request, and still I havent heard from Lumosity team.
I am getting really mad about them, as this seems to be terrible customer service, especially considering it is a paid service.
Hence I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this website.
Does anybody have similar experience? Any kind of information would help!!
Thank you very much!
Unhappyme
Jan 7, 2014

Can not contact them by phone or web . Computer will not let me in with my password and they want me to sign up again with $60.00 more dollars .

I used the site for about a month, then they did'n't like my password I had to change it. Ever since I have not been able to get on the
site. There is not way I can contact them by phone or on their web sit. Also i'm afraid of this auto renewal. With no way of contacting them. How can this company get away with this.
dewiwd
Jan 15, 2014

unable to start games

2 weeks before my 2 yr subscription was due to be renewed,I was unable to start/change games. I tried to contact them via their "help centre"on numerous occasions, with no response at all & the problem continued.This site is useless.There was no point in my renewing the subs.& I eventually managed to cancel my auto-renewal in time after a number of attempts.It remains to be seen whether they still try to take money from my account.
I am disappointed to say the least re their non-existent customer service,especially as I was,in the main, enjoying most of the games.
Marilyn Quilling
Feb 1, 2014

No contact number

I tried to reach a customer service to cancel this the next day. It is impossible to reach an agent!!!
Now reading that they keep taking funds out of your account. Great. Will contact the Attorney General of Mn.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    Country of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Address (optional)
    Phone (optional)
    Website (optional)http://
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    dahlia mottahedeh - lol
    what do you think
    dr sexy say kiss his ass - dr sexy
    everybody can kiss it because I am now in top peak...
    dr sexy - too damm sexy its illeagel
    who is that masked man that fine specimen of a stud...
    dr sexy man - too damm sexy
    who is that masked man he is one beautiful specimen of...
    United Car Exchange - Bogus rip off company
    Those guys will get u from Craig's list if you...
    dr sexyboy30 - sexyboy30
    On this Passover I am blessed with beauty and forgiveness...
    sexyboy - sexyboy
    I'm just a sexy boy I got the looks that drive the...
    Filtropur Commercial - Happy in OHIO
    We are very happy with vacuum and purifier.. I could not...
    Bingo Lane - Bingo numbers
    I love Bingo Lane however the new room has severe...
    wehustle.co.uk - Customer Service Issues
    First and foremost I have never written on a complaint...
    Allianz Capital Holdings - Consumer complaints and reviews about Allianz Capital...
    Hi Deon, they cook up story. Was any of their name and...
    emily mottahedeh - I do care
    I want my life partner I want my friend I don't wanna...
    Relemac Technologies Pvt. Ltd - Special in its cables
    I feel amazed when my customers come with specific...
    Ayoob Ghalami - BG/ SBLC
    We are direct provider for BG/SBLC specifically for lease,...
    SBS Transit - Bus driver is wasting time( singapore SBS bus )
    To:Dear sir/madam Normlly wil take bus no 50 from...
    Fuccillo Kia of Cape Coral - misled to believe everyone gets financed
    i went to purchase an auto mobile from Fuccillo Kia of...
    debbie mottahedeh - im not mad at you
    hey you should know I well you know I don't have to...
    BetWithBTC.com - Another SCAM Bitcoin Casino
    Betwithbtc.com serves as proof that it is likely that...
    BitcoinCasinoPro.com - Worst Bitcoin Casino Ever!
    I would advise anyone to not touch Bitcoincasinopro with a...
    dr john ventrudo - my babies daddie
    You no good deadbeat pay your child support midget
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username