Log inRegister
Add a Review

Agoda

United States

Consumer reviews about Agoda

Henke C
Dec 20, 2011

Reservation


I want to tell you that the discounted prices that Agode offers is not really a discount.
In Thailand when you check with the hotel or guest hpuse directly the price is maybe 700 baht pr. night . Same price as Agoda but they tell you that normal price is 1500 baht. Of course that is a lie so it looks that you get 50% discount.
So check with the guest house or hotel directly before you book with Agoda. In most cases there is nothing to save.
ALso when you charge your credit card with them, the exchange rate is terrible so I found out I lost money just there.

So its better to book directly wioth the place if possible even if its 50 baht more.

indianoma
Jan 7, 2012

Hotel Room Charge Despite Booking Cancellation


I had the same experience with Agoda.Thailand.

indianoma
Jan 7, 2012

Avoid like the plague


Confirmed, the truth of Agoda never contact them again ever..

mamatravel762
Jan 12, 2012

Cheating on room availability


I too had a bad experience with Agoda. They issued a voucher for a hotel in Srilanka and charged my credit card for the full amount ( all 3 days) and when I arrived after a long and tiring journey, was denied a room. Spent 3 hours calling Agoda - the representative was unhelpful and unapologetic. I did get a refund after a few days but was caused a lot of inconvenience.

duncsygy
Jan 18, 2012

reservation change


just booked fragrance hotel- elegance singapore 2 hours ago i got email confirmation but i, m still waiting for my email hotel voucher, i was told it would only take 1 hour

duncsygy
Jan 18, 2012

reservation change


I, m still waiting for my hotel voucher email i was told it will only take 1 hour its now 2 and half hours and still no email

Nicola h
Jan 20, 2012

Reservation


I'm soo mad with Agoda, don't ever use them! We booked a hotel - over New Year in Sri Lanka in November. On Christmas eve they sent us an email saying that it was fully booked but for the same price we could have somewhere totally inferior and not nearly as nice. We emailed them straight back saying that we didn't want the alternative accommodation but a full refund.
Apparently the first accommodation emailed them the moment that we made the booking to say it was full yet they didn't pass this on. We then emailed the hotel directly about something and they were horrified that we still thought that we were staying there so they emailed agoda AGAIN. Then a week later agoda told us, on Christmas Eve, when we were flying out to the busiest season on Boxing day. Great, really helpful arriving in a country with nowhere to stay at the busiest time.

Firstly, they still haven't refunded me and secondly they have just sent an email saying that they're not going to because we didn't tell them that we didn't want the alternative accommodation. Despite having an email saying we don't want the accommodation and to refund us.

Do they really think they can get away with this?? It's outragious!

NEVER EVER USE AGODA - THEY ARE BADLY MANAGED. TAKE YOUR MONEY AND FIND WEAK EXCUSES NOT TO GIVE IT BACK!

Sunil Devaraj
Jan 23, 2012

Deceptive Business Practices and Inadequate Response to Complaint


I too booked and cancelled a hotel booking as i made a double booking by mistake. I received a email from Agoda saying that the cancellation amount is equal to the booking amount and that i wll not get any refund. The amount of booking is USD 239.16. In fact i had made another booking in the same hotel thru agoda and the reason i cancelled this booking was because it was a double booking by mistake. I am still hoping agoda will give me a refund, if not i will stop using the website forever and will definetly publish this story in all discussion forums so that people know what is happening

Your Mom Knows Best
Jan 23, 2012

Deceptive Business Practices and Inadequate Response to Complaint


"'a reasonable person' could easily interpret the presence of all of the ability to cancel language and complete absence of non-refundable language surrounding the rooms that are non-refundable is at a minimum deceptive and misleading, and arguably unethical."

No reasonable person would think this. Also, no reasonable person would take a "review" seriously where the pros are listed as, "not much".

techride0020
Jan 23, 2012

Deceptive Business Practices and Inadequate Response to Complaint


"No reasonable person would think this. Also, no reasonable person would take a "review" seriously where the pros are listed as, "not much"."

You clearly have the intellect of an 8 year old.

Your Mom Knows Best
Jan 23, 2012

Deceptive Business Practices and Inadequate Response to Complaint


lol ok. shoo troll.

Sunil Devaraj
Feb 2, 2012

Deceptive Business Practices and Inadequate Response to Complaint


Dear All
I got my refund from Agoda after i went to the Agoda Website and made a complaint thru their Complaints option.

mrmichael
Feb 7, 2012

Do Not Use - Not Reputable


From personal experience, as a lodging owner, and looking from a customer point of view I would strongly recommend not using Agoda, but using the likes of Hostelworld and Hostelbookers instead.

To start with the commission Agoda seeks is double that of the other mentioned booking engines, meaning lodgings need to increase their price to compensate. Agoda also collect 100% at the time of the booking, not the 10% or less that the other mentioned booking engines take.

Agoda do not provide either the lodging or guest to make direct contact, either before or after the booking is made, where as with the other mentioned booking engines both the lodging and the booker are then able to contact each other, to help with additional information and or changes in the booking.

With the other mentioned booking engines the collection of the balance is up to the lodging to collect on arrival. With Agoda, getting the 80%, especially if the lodging does not accept Mastercard, takes for ever, if it happens at all. Meaning the lodging needs to further increase their charges/rates to compensate for the additional banking fees and/or delay in payment.

Do yourself and the World a favor, don't use Agoda.

mrmichael
Feb 7, 2012

Misrepresentation and Apathetic Customer Service


From personal experience, as a lodging owner, and looking from a customer point of view I would strongly recommend not using Agoda, but using the likes of Hostelworld and Hostelbookers instead.

To start with the commission Agoda seeks is double that of the other mentioned booking engines, meaning lodgings need to increase their price to compensate. Agoda also collect 100% at the time of the booking, not the 10% or less that the other mentioned booking engines take.

Agoda do not provide either the lodging or guest to make direct contact, either before or after the booking is made, where as with the other mentioned booking engines both the lodging and the booker are then able to contact each other, to help with additional information and or changes in the booking.

With the other mentioned booking engines the collection of the balance is up to the lodging to collect on arrival. With Agoda, getting the 80%, especially if the lodging does not accept Mastercard, takes for ever, if it happens at all. Meaning the lodging needs to further increase their charges/rates to compensate for the additional banking fees and/or delay in payment.

Do yourself and the World a favor, don't use Agoda.

jason william
Feb 7, 2012

Reservation


i had a bad experience using agoda for my booking in singapore, i made a cancellation for my booking A MONTH before my booking date, i've already notice agoda and fragrance hotel singapore about my cancellation, but they refused to give me a refund because they said it was classified as promotional so they didn't give refund for my booking cancellation, agoda didn't give clear information that it was classified as non refundable(even as you can see in agoda's website, you can see a huge tagline that it's a FREE CANCELLATION ), it didnt't make any sense for me since i cancelled my booking just a view hour after i made it ( i have chosen the wrong hotel and decided to take the others), and i've already give them early notice about my cancellation but they still charged me with 3 days full charge, if they charged me for 1 night charge, i think it's fair enough, but if they charged me with 3 days full charge without using any service from them, it doesn't make any sense for me...,

PussyKins
Feb 12, 2012

Reservation


I'm very disappointed with Agoda, and wont use them again.
1. They claim to be upfront about the total cost, but promote a price that excludes taxes and charges. Later in the booking process they show up in fine print, then get added at payment time. Most other online agents include them in their promoted price. Seems to me they are trying to fool customers into thinking they are cheaper.
2. I booked a hotel after reading the reviews on Agoda. On staying there, I was very unhappy about several aspects of the hotel. I suspect Agoda 'edits' reviews to remove negatives. I submitted a review, but strangely Agoda allows you to describe "Pros", but not "Cons", and warns your review will go through an editing/approval process.

do not use Agoda
Feb 15, 2012

Do Not Use - Not Reputable


i had written 3 emails to complain, however, after 24 hours & another 24 hours and a week, there is still no reply from anyone from Agoda. What is a promise about 24 hours reply promise? Only the money charge within 24 hours since from booking.
I was complaining about the lowest price guarantee from Agoda's website which more expensive than the offer from the hotel I bought from Agoda and request refund as well as the rewards is not working while my booking account.
I will never use Agoda again and their reward is not work at all. what a fucker

Prince-W
Feb 16, 2012

Hidden fees on your transaction which takes out the saving part.


Totally AGREE! This is my first time booking hotel via www.agoda.com in Malaysia. At first their website really give a better offer which is lower and cheaper than direct/official hotel reservation website. But after few days of booking confirmation, I received the credit card statement shows the transaction through London office, and they charged more than the amount of my booking confirmation. Now it cost me even much more expensive than direct/official hotel reservation. Lastly, they shouldn't charge more than the final total amount of the booking confirmation.

As a conclusion, I will not cancel the booking, because most people won't get any refund, nor their hotel room. Will not contact Agoda, because no one will reply/respond to you, and might lost my booking and money. Will never book hotel at Agoda website. Big SCAM!

teaky
Feb 18, 2012

Agoda is a total scam


Agoda will let you think that they are the cheapest site to book hotels and as soon as you authorize payment the price became more than double. They are a total scam. As soon as you see the price they charge call your credit card company and block the payment immediately. Someone said Agoda is a part of priceline.com. If it's true priceline.com should be sued.

These Agoda people belong to long jail terms. If they open an office in the USA, I will make it sure they be sent to where they belong.

teaky
Feb 18, 2012

Agoda is a scam and period


Agoda will let you think that they are the cheapest site to book hotels and as soon as you authorize payment the price became more than double. They are a total scam. As soon as you see the price they charge call your credit card company and block the payment immediately. Someone said Agoda is a part of priceline.com. If it's true priceline.com should be sued.

These Agoda people belong to long jail terms. If they open an office in the USA, I will make it sure they be sent to where they belong.

teaky
Feb 18, 2012

Agoda's deceptive practices


Agoda seems to be using many deceptive practices creating bogus websites supposed to be review and complaint sites. However, many sites won't show up or additional comments can't be posted in some sites. This site is the only genuine complaint site against Agoda. The pro comments in many sites are believed to be written by Agoda people and nobody can post any negative comments.

Agoda will give out a phone number from England (country code 44) but the address transmitted with booking confirmations is from Bangkok, Thailand. When a call is placed someone from Malaysia will answer.

Some kind of legal action should be taken against people from Agoda.

Jess1986
Feb 19, 2012

Did not send voucher


I left this complaint rashly, the company were very helpful and I wanted to retract it. I was just upset to have been charged boat transfers rather discretely with my booking, however I should have read the small print a bit better.

Fredise
Feb 22, 2012

UPDATE: Misrepresentation & Apathetic Customer Service


customer service sucks at agoda.I sent them a few emails about issues.I am still waiting for an answer.I called twice the uk number.The first time I got a clueless guy on the phone who did not help me a bit and the 2nd time i got an answering machine telling me that the service was not working.
Regarding their lowest price, yes sometimes a few cents lower .It looks much lower but watch out for the tax and service fees.

SGodier
Feb 28, 2012

Reservation


This is the first time I have left a review for a company, however I feel that I have to do so.

I booked 1 night in a hotel on the 22nd Feb for a stay on 25th with Agoda. When i received the email confirmation it was suddenly apparent that the 'fantastic' price they displayed on the website did not include tax or charges as their UK competitors do.

For the same price I was able to book a room with the hotel directly and have it include breakfast.

I immediately canceled my booking through Agoda - which was a very quick and easy process. However they now refuse to refund my money as it was within 7 days of the trip.

Elizabeth from customer services appears to have sent me a soulless cut and paste response to my enquiry.

There is absolutely no point in using Agoda - there are cheaper options elsewhere and the customer services is obviously terrible.

Don't do what i did. I will be continuing to try and claim my £149 that I have been charged for nothing.

Topherb
Mar 14, 2012

Hotel Room Charge Despite Booking Cancellation


I booked two rooms on march 5, 2012 for april 17 to
April 22, 2012 for 3 days at the Agoda.com then on
March 7, 2012 I cancelled both rooms and ask for
A refund they told me "This booking is Non-Refundable
and cannot be amended or modified. Failure to arrive at
your hotel will be treated as a No-Show and no refund
will be given (Hotel policy). BS!!! I cancelled everything
One month in advance!!! BS!!! So what I did I called Altavista
De boracay hotel ask the manager to get a refund but the
Manager of the hotel told me they have nothing got to do about it..
Its all about Agoda!!! This is BS!!! I hate you Agoda!!!

Add a Review about Agoda

    Review Title
    Country
    City (optional)
    Address (optional)
    Phone (optional)
    Website (optional)http://
    Review text
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Reviews

    Genuine Loan Company - for quick and affordable loans...
    A MUST READ: Good day everyone, I am Mr Johnny...
    146550 - for quick and affordable loan email at:...
    A MUST READ: Good day everyone, I am Mr Johnny...
    saml - Buy fake Passport ,Visa,Driving License,ID CARDS,
    Buy Quality Real And Fake Passports,Driver’s License,ID...
    Texas PC Geeks - Convicted Felon Opens Company to Rip off People
    I and many other contractors can testify to everything...
    maurinesandak - Buy Fake Passport (maurinesandak@gmail.com) Diplomati
    If you have been looking to buy original fake passport and...
    147822 - That Above review is a FAKE
    Fake Account made up to Slander a Veteran Owned and...
    silvia fassardi - A friend
    I was on Facebook today and was actually shocked to see...
    silvia fassardi - impressive
    LOOK AT YOUR LIFE SILVIA i always knew you are a loser...
    silvia fassardi - truth about silvia fassardi
    this is for the current victim of silvia think about that...
    Future Vacations Complaints Bangalore - Future Vacations Complaints Bangalore
    Future Vacations is a well reputed travel agency in...
    Future Vacations Bangalore - Future Vacations Complaints Bangalore
    Awesome places are being traveled by Future vacations...
    silvia fassardi - miami con artist septimo jewelry
    this is a warning to silvia fassardis new victim dont...
    silvia fassardi - con artist slut
    SILVIA FASSARDI is a con artist thief as a friend of...
    silvia fassardi - lowlife con artist slut
    Iam a friend of a victim of silvia fassardi this woman is...
    Leafguard - no more ladders
    i have had my gutters for a while but recently had a...
    Kirk Swafford Mobile Mechanic - If you know where he is - report to your local police!!!
    Do not deal with Kirk Swafford Mobile Mechanic!!! He had...
    Wells Fargo Bank - Scams!!!!
    Wells Fargo Bank is a SCAM!!!!!!! I have opened an account...
    Miloch's Palace Chrysler - Only frauds work there!!!
    Beware of Miloch's Palace Chrysler!!!! I had so many...
    Xpress Geeks - That service will scam you!
    Do not turn to Xpress Geeks when you have a problem with...
    WME (Web Marketing Experts) - Do not hire this company!!!!!!!
    I would like to warn others and say BEWARE of WME (Web...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username